DOE congratulates the 2022 Empowerment Award winners | Whuff News

WASHINGTON, DC — The US Department of Energy (DOE) today announced the winners of the 2022 Clean Energy Education & Empowerment (C3E) Awards, honoring nine women for outstanding leadership and achievement in clean energy. The C3E Initiative aims to close the gender gap and increase the participation, leadership, and success of women in various fields of clean energy.

“For too long, there has been a significant gender gap in the energy sector, meaning half the population has had a reduced impact on one of our most important industries,” US Secretary of Energy Jennifer M. Granholm. “As we transition to a clean energy economy, we need to tap into the pool of amazing women who are working hard and growing their ranks. That’s why DOE is proud to welcome the winners of this year’s C3E Awards, a diverse group of transformative women tackling some of the biggest challenges in energy.

Data shows that more women are leaving the workforce, a trend exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic. C3E strives to keep women in the workforce by connecting those working in clean energy with knowledge, insight, inspiration, and opportunities to engage with peers and mentors.

C3E Award winners create scientific breakthroughs, expand energy access, strengthen community resilience, improve systems, and invest in technologies that will facilitate the clean energy transition. Each honoree receives a cash prize of $8,000 and national recognition for their efforts.

Now in its 11th year, the C3E Initiative is led by the DOE in partnership with the MIT Energy Initiative, the Precourt Institute for Energy at Stanford University, and the Texas A&M Energy Institute.

The 2022 C3E award winners are:

business- Phoebe Wang is a clean technology venture capitalist who serves as an investment director at Shell Ventures, the venture capital arm of energy company Shell. Wang leads early and late-stage investments in technologies to accelerate the energy transition in the areas of hydrogen, carbon utilization and storage, energy storage, mobility, and energy. He has invested more than $150 million over the past decade in frontier technology startups.

Education and Information — Angelica Ramdhari is director of Resilient Solar at Solar One, a non-profit organization that provides technical assistance, training, and educational programs to promote sustainability in diverse urban areas. Ramdhari specializes in the delivery of high-barrier New York City energy storage projects. He has directed the design and installation of several solar and battery projects in low-income coastal neighborhoods in Brooklyn and the Bronx.

Entrepreneur – Shannon Miller is the chief executive officer and founder of Mainspring Energy. Miller leads the design, manufacture, and marketing of the Mainspring Linear Generator, a new type of clean energy generator with a fuel-agnostic design that enables switching between fuel types, including clean fuels such as hydrogen, biogas, renewable natural gas, and -ammonia. . The generator is designed to boost renewable energy, increase durability, and speed up fuel efficiency.

Government – Sylvia Louise is the director of business development for the Power Authority of New York, the largest public energy organization in the United States. Louie focuses on developing large-scale renewables, energy storage, and transmission projects that support the New York City’s clean energy goals.

International – Sarah Bieber is the head of energy collaboration at Acumen, a non-profit organization that is changing the way the world tackles poverty by investing in companies, leaders and ideas. Bieber leads a global team working to provide access to clean energy to the 733 million people living without it. He brings together donors, corporations, and other stakeholders in the public and private sectors to design investment strategies and create alliances that support clean energy companies that serve low-income communities.

Law & Finance – Rachel Taow is a program leading to the advancement of modern materials at the Nuclear Fast Track, based at the Idaho National Laboratory. Taow is working to improve contracting practices for advanced nuclear power. Implements strategies to improve public-private partnerships to provide effective access to national laboratory resources. He spearheaded a new contract model to enable industry to access multiple national labs through a single contract, saving negotiation time and resources.

Social, Economic, and Emerging Policy — Ramsay Siegal is a partner in Earthshot Ventures, a venture capital fund that supports entrepreneurs building technologies to tackle climate change. Siegal previously led a portfolio of more than 100 weather companies at Elemental Excelerator, from which Earthshot Ventures spun out in 2021.

Technological Research and Innovation- Y. Shirley Meng is a professor at the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago and chief scientist of Argonne National Laboratory’s Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science. He is a pioneering scientist focusing primarily on energy storage materials and systems, including rechargeable batteries for electric cars and trucks, power sources for the Internet of Things, and grid-scale storage. His work on cryogenic microscopic imaging methods in the field of batteries is internationally recognized.

Lifetime success — Lisa Jackson is the vice president of Environmental, Policy, and Social Initiatives at Apple. Jackson oversees Apple’s efforts to reduce its impact on the environment by addressing climate change through renewable energy and energy efficiency, using green materials, and inventing new ways to conserve valuable resources. He also leads Apple’s Racial Equity and Justice Initiative, which focuses on education, economic opportunity, and criminal justice reform.

Learn more about the C3E Initiative and the honorees. Winners will be honored at the 11th Annual C3E Women in Clean Energy Symposium on November 2, 2022. Subscribe to the livestream of the event.

Source link