The Council of Human Rights Leaders | Whuff News

Live Event


Association for Certified Practice

October 31, 2022 8:00 am – 12:00 pm ET

United States Supreme Court

1 First Street NE Washington, DC 20543

Register here!

On Monday, October 31, the Supreme Court will hear oral arguments for two cases regarding the consideration of race as a factor in college admissions at Harvard and the University of North Carolina.

All students should have a fair chance at going to college, regardless of their family’s income, where they grew up, or their community and organization. But cultural and discriminatory practices still keep all students from equal access to educational opportunities. Accreditation helps to expand higher education opportunities to those who have been historically excluded by ensuring that students’ diverse talents and experiences Colors are not overlooked in hair styles that look biased towards them.

Now is the time to show our support for diversity in higher education and stand up to those who seek to divide us. We need as many people as possible! The Leadership Forum, in collaboration with the African American Policy Forum, Asian Americans Advancing Justice- AAJC, Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, and the Legal Defense Fund will host a forum outside of the Supreme Court on October 31 at 8 am. Join us to show your support for affirmative action!

Please email [email protected] for questions or concerns.

In proud partnership with:

  • African American Policy Forum
  • American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity (AAAED)
  • Asian American Criminal Justice | AAJC
  • Lawyers’ Committee for Legal Rights
  • Alliance for Justice
  • The popular Center for Democracy
  • Court Appeals
  • Leadership, Equity, Opportunity and Diversity Fund (LEAD Fund)
  • Mexican American Legal Defense Fund
  • NAACP Youth & College
  • National Action Network
  • National Urban League
  • National Women’s Law Center
  • Southeast Asia Resource Action Center
  • People for the American Way

Speakers include:

  • Maya Wiley, president and CEO, The Leadership Conference Education Fund
  • John C. Yang, president and executive director, Asian Americans Advancing Justice – AAJC
  • Damon Hewitt, president and executive director, Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights
  • Rakim Brooks, president, Alliance for Justice
  • Jessie Ryan, executive vice president, Campaign for College Opportunity
  • Kristin Mink, senior legislative director, Center for Popular Democracy
  • Rev. Dr. Starsky Wilson, president & CEO, Children’s Defense Fund
  • Muskaan Arshad, Coalition for a Diverse Harvard
  • Chris Kang, co-founder and general counsel, Demand Justice
  • Alaina Ruffin, George Mason University NAACP president
  • Kylan Tatum, political science chair, Harvard Asian American Association
  • Chelsea Wang, political science chair, Harvard Asian American Association
  • David Lewis, political chair, Harvard Black Students Association
  • Sally Chen, Harvard College, Class of 2019
  • Itzel Vasquez-Rodriguez, Harvard College, Class of 2017
  • Lourdes Rosado, president and general counsel, LatinoJustice PRLDEF
  • Andrea Senteno, regional counsel, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund
  • Ivory Toldson, director, new education and research, NAACP
  • JaLynn Davis, Howard University chapter leader, National Action Network
  • Joi Chaney, executive director, Washington Bureau and senior director of policy + advocacy, National Urban League
  • Fatima Goss Graves, president and CEO, National Women’s Law Center
  • Devin Freeman, North Carolina NAACP state political leader & North Carolina Central University NAACP vice president
  • Markus Batchelor, deputy director of leadership programs, People For America
  • Quyên Đinh, executive director, Southeast Asia Resource Action Center
  • Christina Huang, co-leader, UNC for Certified Practice
  • Sarah Zhang, co-director, UNC for Certified Practice
  • Andrew Brennen, University of North Carolina, Class of 2019
  • Star Wingate-Bey, University of North Carolina, Class of 2016
  • Catherine Ho
  • Jonathan Loc
  • Angie Shin
  • Patricia Youmans and LaVone Hicks

!function(f,b,e,v,n,t,s) {if(f.fbq)also;n=f.fbq=function(){n.callMethod? n.callMethod.apply(n,arguments):n.queue.push(arguments)}; if(!f._fbq)f._fbq=n;n.push=n;n.loaded=!0;n.version=’2.0′; n.queue=[];t=b.createElement(e);t.async=!0; t.src=v;s=b.getElementsByTagName(u)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’, ‘’); fbq(‘init’, ‘301201127601937’); fbq(‘track’, ‘Civil Rights Submit Button_Form Submit_2022_FB’);

Source link